What a Difference a Year Makes

I found this half-finished post in my drafts, from about a year ago when a bunch of us were bloggin’ machines thanks to Chip’s blogging challenge idea. The first half of this post was written last May. I don’t know why I didn’t finish and publish it then, but in a way, I’m glad it was left incomplete because now I feel ready to complete it.

May 2016

My husband and I (and our two awesome cats) live on the top floor of a condo building, about a mile from where we both work. It’s a wonderful living arrangement because we enjoy a two minute commute, we live comfortably and well within our means, and we are part of an incredible community in Sandy Springs. Also, we look out our windows to a wall of beautiful, tall, green trees:

My favorite tree out there might be dead, but it looks like it might have birds’ nests at the top.

IMG_7033

For over a year, I have been awaiting the arrival of bulldozers and log trucks across the street, signaling the start of construction of Mercedes Benz’ new national headquarters. Signaling the end of our lush wooded view. While I have not seen any changes out my windows yet, I have noticed countless other construction projects occurring throughout Sandy Springs.

With mixed feelings, I simultaneously love living in a rapidly growing community with countless amenities and attractions, but I really wonder about the long-term effects of this fast-paced change. I wonder about replacing acres of dense trees with high-density housing and high-rise office buildings. I wonder about exactly where the boundary is between necessary, healthy progress and overbuilding.


September 2016

October 2016

December 2016

June 2017

Lots has changed in just one year, and of course more change will come. My favorite tree with the birds’ nests is long gone. In its place is a huge three-story building with glass walls, plus a bunch of construction trailers and pickup trucks. Once completed, this project will be beautiful and it will bring so much value to the city of Sandy Springs. While I miss our comfortable, familiar wooded view, I understand the significance of the opportunity to have Mercedes Benz’ national headquarters as a next door neighbor. As Frank Sinatra tells us, the best is yet to come, and I am optimistic that this is true.

One thought on “What a Difference a Year Makes

Add yours

  1. I’m glad you two have the wisdom the live close and within your means as that raises your quality of life so much in regards to time and money savings.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

