Goals Check In

It’s important to revisit goals we set, on a regular basis. (I don’t do that very well – yet.) Upon revisiting, we can see what we’ve accomplished and what our next steps might be. If we haven’t made any progress yet, it’s a chance to recommit or perhaps iterate the goal.

Here is an attempt to hold myself accountable for the goals I set a few weeks ago…

  1. Find a church home with my husband.
    1. Not yet. I have watched online sermons from two different churches occasionally, but we have yet to visit a church in person together. I think we have different visions of what we would like in a church home. I am partial to the church I grew up in, but I’m not sure Scott feels the same way I do.
  2. Create a budget and stick to it each month.
    1. Oh man. We go between not spending money frivolously at all… or we spend it frequently, on little things like lunch/dinner/drinks, especially on weekends or spring break this past week. Generally, we are pretty frugal and live well within our means, but we’ve yet to create a budget. Something about thinking through all those details seems painful to me and I am avoiding it.
  3. Perform a muscle-up.
    1. Check! I can do a muscle up (or two) on a pull up bar.
    2. Next step: muscle-up on the rings.
  4. Host my parents for a dinner in our tiny condo.
    1. Not yet. We talked about it but that’s about as far as it’s gone. April might be a good time…
  5. Blog twice a month.
    1. Not yet. Obviously working on it.
  6. Read at least one book (outside of required work reading) every month.
    1. Check. I read and enjoyed the following titles, all of which I found through Amazon’s Kindle deals of the day over the past few weeks:
      1. All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
      2. The Indifferent Stars Above: The Harrowing Saga of the Donner Party
      3. The Girl With Seven Names: Escape from North Korea
      4. (currently reading) Where’d You Go Bernadette
  7. Take a break from Facebook in January
    1. Check, kind of. I don’t spend a lot of time on Facebook, but I do continue to use it to keep up with certain groups, like my gym. My reasoning behind this goal was to break the habit of spending time scrolling through newsfeeds, and I think I have accomplished that.
  8. Drink only water, coffee, skim milk, and tea in January.
    1. This was a fail up moment. I think I lasted a week into this challenge.
    2. Next step: I might try again from March 18-April 18 (that’s my birthday). I might also try to drink at least 2 liters of water a day during that month.

For the rest of March, I am excited to focus on on finding a church with Scott. I’m also excited to commit to blogging a few more times (or at least one more time).

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

