On the Quest to Declutter 

My husband and I like watching shows on Netflix about tiny houses. I’m fascinated and maybe a little appalled at how some people can live so comfortably with very few possessions in such a small space. 

But we practically live in a tiny house ourselves, in a two bedroom condo that I bought a few years ago. A great find by my realtor, our home sweet home sits less than one mile from work and (knock on wood) has zero maintenance since it was brand new when I moved in. The only potential downside is that it totals 1000 square feet. 

Over the years I’ve acquired two cats, a husband, and lots of stuff – plus all the stuff that belongs to the husband and the cats. We do a pretty good job of keeping our place organized, but with summertime promising longer days and fewer hours spent at work, I want to tackle some of the clutter that has accumulated over the years.

I’m currently reading The Life-Changing Habit of Tidying Up, an Amazon book purchase inspired after reading this Whole Life Challenge blog post on “leaving no trace.” I’m excited to experience the freedom and lightness promised to those who can rid their spaces of items that do not bring them joy. And as a maximizer of efficiency, I’m intrigued by the idea of never having to clean again.

I’ll return to the idea of simplifying and decluttering in the next few posts. 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

