Seven Types of Goals

So we are 9 days into the new year and I’m still thinking about what my goals might be. In listening to Dave Ramsey’s podcast, I learned that you can actually have seven categories of goals – which at first sounded ridiculous considering most people can’t even keep up with one or two resolutions. But there’s a difference between a resolution and a goal, and I actually ended up liking the categories because it made me consider areas of my life that I might not have otherwise.

Seven types:

  • Financial
  • Intellectual
  • Family
  • Spiritual
  • Physical
  • Career
  • Social
  • (I’m adding an 8th) Service

Dave also let me in on the secret that goals are achieved much more often when they are written down, so here goes…

Financial – Put [undisclosed amount] towards our mortgage every month, working to pay off my three year old condo much sooner than 2041.

Intellectual – Read one book per month. I usually read nonfiction because I feel guilty otherwise – there are all these great books on leadership and education and other incredible ideas out there, so why should I use my time to read Gone Girl? I won’t specify how many fiction versus nonfiction I’ll read within that 12, but I’ll try to mix it up a little bit. There is great value in reading novels too.

Family – Go on a date night once every two weeks. (Even though my husband and I work at the same school, we don’t see each other as much as one might think!) Call my grandmothers once every two weeks, since they are amazing and won’t be around forever.

Spiritual – Attend church or listen online once a week.

Physical – Drink 2 liters of water a day. Remaster the pistol (one-legged squat). I used to be awesome at them earlier in life, and now my legs are all rickety and I’m closer to 30 than ever before, so wish me luck.

Career – Blog at least once every two weeks. Present at a conference (on an undecided topic). And many other small goals and interests that I won’t bore you with here but I’ll blog about them soon…

Social – Have dinner with my college friends and my high school friends once a month.

Service – Volunteer 100 hours at the Atlanta Humane Society.

It’s interesting to me that travel and volunteering are not on this list of categories, although I suppose it’s easy enough to add another category or lump those type goals into another one like family or spiritual. Additionally, It’s refreshing that these types of goals depart from the traditional, worn-out focus of most New Years’ Resolutions: fitness, health, organization, etc. Those aspects of life are important and necessary to an extent, but at the end of the year, I think I’d rather look back and have accomplished a wider range of things than just keeping an organized household and working out x times per week.

Bring on 2015! We have 356 days until 2016…

What are your goals?

One thought on “Seven Types of Goals

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

